Image

The risk is well worth the reward.

 

It was an interesting Saturday to say the least, as I walked into the gymnasium for weigh-ins, my nerves were finally getting the best of me. As I waited for other competitors to weigh in ahead of me I couldn’t help but to eavesdrop on the conversations around me. Waiting to hear another competitor in my weight class discuss his maxes and what he was going attempt to hit today. I ran through the cues of each lift as I waited to weigh in, doing my best not to psyche myself out.  On top of that, I was right on the border of the 165lb weight class and had no shot at doing well at the next weight class. Lo and behold, I make weight and have the next few hours to sit around and prepare myself for the task at hand.

 

After what seemed like an eternity, the time had finally come to get warmed up and squat. There is a lot more to a power lifting meet than picking things up and putting things down. You have to carefully plan your meals, warm-ups, pre- training rituals around your time on the platform. As most competitors do, I warmed up way to early and felt like I had way too much time in between my warm-ups and my first attempt. Finally the time had come, my name was announced over the P.A. and I walked up to the bar. All the thoughts I had running through my head were gone. It was just me against the weight, and the last thing I was going to do was lose…

 

At the end of the day I ended up doing much better than I ever thought I would have; totaling 1034lbs combining a 360 lb squat, 255 lb bench press, and a 425 lb dead lift, and winning my weight class.  So to go along with my last post, pick an event, competition, race, etc and compete. Give it everything you have and you never know what the outcome may be.

 

Ronald Giammarinaro

UNCC intern

