First Half Marathon
In training for a 1/2 marathon this Spring I have been dinged up more than once but have always bounced back within a week or at least started making progress within a week.
 This week and this ding seem to be different in that it isn’t clearing up as quickly as it is an irritation of an old chronic injury.  So like every athlete, I spent yesterday cranky as I had to come back from my run early (way early), feeling like a flop and every other ridiculous thought imaginable.  After an hour or so of unproductive whining I did what I tell my clients to do:  re-evaluate your plan for the next week and treat your injury with the respect it deserves.
 So after practicing RICE (rest, ice, compression and elevation) for a couple hours, I did what every good Massage & Bodywork Therapist would tell you, and worked on contrast therapy with heat and Epsom salts, and then back to ice.  I worked gently on my range of motion, made sure I was hitting the ground with a flat foot, as opposed to an edge with every step and dug in my lower leg with a lacrosse ball (for me it is always posterior tibialis).
 I also did what was common sense, work on the anti-inflammatory nutritionally (in addition to my choice of ibuprofen–see your Dr. for what is best for you).  I bumped up my fish oil all weekend leading up to my run and will continue to do so for the rest of the week.  I also take a supplement specifically to help control inflammation (over the counter), and then got back to my regular supplements (overall whole foods vitamin/mineral and Vitamin D3).  I am also bumping up my protein (as a mostly vegetarian I tend to be behind) and my veges via shake!
 Lastly, the biggest help of all…..control your sugar intake.  It’s not popular and not a lot of fun either when you are bummed but the bottom line is the faster you take control the faster you can get back out on the road doing what you want to do!
Michele Mathiesen, Licensed Massage & Bodywork Therapist (NC #6472), Yoga Therapist, E-RYT-500 and wanna be 1/2 marathoner.
